Flamekeeping 101 Prompts: Definitions and Explanations

This series is going to be me working through the book Kindling Our Stars: Nurturing Bright and Dark Flames by Genevieve Wood. I’ll be referring to blog posts from Flamekeeping.org, as well as the sections in the book when I can’t find where from the blog certain parts of the book come from. This prompt is from the section Definitions and Explanations in the book.

Prompt: Rewrite each of the definitions in your own words.

The Soul as Flame – The is the metaphor upon which the ideas of the Bright and Dark flames are built upon. The soul is very similar to a flame in some respects. It can diminish or grow, depending on it’s environment. I, however, personally do not truly believe it dies. It certainly might, I don’t know what happens after death, but I see the flame of the soul as enduring in one form or another. I don’t know enough about the mechanics of fire to back this up with a metaphor of my own, but fire leaves an impact on the world. Always. It marks the world in some way, either by eating fuel, heating up something, or destroying something. In that way, we all have an impact on the world, no matter how small.

I used to think of the soul as a sort of layered thing. It could have pieces lost, could get other pieces grafted on…it was a very complicated view. How I used to think of it still colors how I think about things today, but for the most part, I find the flame metaphor simpler.

Dark Flame – The Dark Flame is beginnings, the possibility of creation. It is Divine, but is separate from the rest of Divine…but is a sort of refection of it at the same time. I tend to think of the ego or the id when I think of the Dark Flame, but it’s not that. The dark flame is for ourselves though, as it’s our core. The Dark Flame is not seen by others.

Bright Flame – The Bright Flame is tied to our community. It ties us to other people. Not literally, but it’s what people see of us.

Balance of Flame – The Bright Flame and the Dark Flame are not opposites, they’re just different. The Dark Flame feeds the Bright Flame which in turn feeds the Divine. We need both. As an aside, both of my flames are diminished considerably at this point in my life, but are getting stronger as the days go on.  Not everyone will have the same level of what is healthy for them, in the balancing of these two flames. It’s different for everyone. We shouldn’t neglect either flame, but it’s difficult.

This entry was posted in Flamekeeping, Prompts, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

